I’ve been waiting for this.

Earlier this year, Gardein teased that they were unveiling a new product. They posted hints on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, saying it was easy to take on the go, would be crispy on the outside, and deliver on flavour. Oh yes, and they described it as a ‘party animal,’ too.

A week after their first announcement, Gardein officially announced that they had come up with their own version of a pizza pocket, to the rejoice of vegans everywhere.

Gardein previously came out with pulled porkless pockets, which are to die for, and italian sausage pockets, which I wasn’t as crazy about. Later this year, they’re also supposed to start distributing breakfast pockets, which people are already going nuts for in tastings.

Last week, I found these at my local Save-On Foods, and got real giddy about it. I’m always into trying a bold, new product like this.

So, naturally, I gave it a whirl.

IMG_1978

So it’s a bit tinier than a hot pocket. And it leaked a little bit. But it’s hella cute.

Biting into it, the first thing that jumped out to me is that it’s not immediately like a pepperoni pizza pocket. I mean, it’s definitely like eating a pizza pocket, with the vegan mozzarella and tomato sauce. But the meat doesn’t really remind me of pepperoni.

With that said, if you’re going to harshly judge a vegan product and always expect it to be like the original thing, you’re going to have a bad time.

The flavours are definitely Italian-inspired, however. I know some people really love Italian spices, and for me… I’m not crazy about them. I mean, if someone told me I could never eat Italian food ever again, I’d be a bit bummed, but I would survive easily.

But I can appreciate this. It’s a pretty unoffensive fix for a pizza craving. It’s only 210 calories, and has 7 grams of fat in a serving. It’s not the best nutritionally, of course, but I can guarantee its certainly better for you than a slice of pepperoni pizza.

With some thoughtful consideration, I’m going to give them 3.5 forks out of 5. They’re pretty decent, but Gardein still has some work to do.

All in all, though, it’s the start of something beautiful. Vegan pizza pockets. Incredible.

Leave a Reply

