Oh, pizza. It should be its own group, really.

By a turn of fate, I ended up writing two pizza-related posts this week, perhaps inspired by my own insatiable appetite for the stuff. But I digress.

If you’re like me and you have a love-hate relationship with cheese — in that you love it until you remember you’re lactose intolerant — this recipe might be for you. It’s pretty simple, and doesn’t have animal products in it. Really, it suits most diets. Except that of the gluten-free crowd. I’m sorry, I’ll get to you guys next time.

I first theorized making individual pizzas on pitas a few years ago. Then again, I’m positive I’m not the person who came up with it. But either way, it changed the way I make pizza at home for good.

Like most fans of a pizza pie, I don’t mind the stuff at all next day. But most homemade pizza isn’t good the next day. I think it’s a conspiracy to make you tempted to eat it all in one go and hate yourself.

Essentially, that’s how I came up with this. It’s easy to make, it’s quick to make, and it’s relatively cheap depending on the ingredients.

 

IMG_2037
That cheese pull, though.

Here’s what you need to keep around the kitchen to whip this bad boy up in 10 minutes flat.

  • one pita. I used a pita pocket, so the temperature might need to be different if you decide to go the route of a fluffy pita.
  • three pieces of sundried tomato in oil
  • a handful of spinach
  • 1/3 cup of daiya mozzarella shreds
  • two tablespoons of tomato sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon of simulated bacon bits (Totally optional. I did it for this pie just because I felt like it. If you haven’t figured out yet, that’s my style of cooking.)

First, turn your oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit. Really. That’s all you need to cook the pizza. Or to melt the ingredients together, I suppose.

While your oven is getting ready, chop up your sundried tomato pieces into small, diced cubes. They’re not the easiest things in the world to cut up, so try your best.

If you opt to work with simulated bacon bits, here’s a tip to get more of a satisfying chew out of them: just soak them in water for a few minutes prior to use. You don’t need a lot of water, maybe a ratio of 1 part water to two parts of bacon bits. But it helps a lot to make them more tasty.

Swirl the tomato sauce onto the pita. Try to keep it evenly distributed, because the pita pocket has wrinkles that trap sauce. Sauce pockets!

Next, sprinkle your bacon bits and sundried tomato onto the pizza. Blanket it in some mozzarella shreds, and finally, assemble the spinach.

When the oven is heated and your pizza is all cleaned up, place it directly on the highest rack in your oven. Set a timer for 10 minutes, but keep an eye on it. You’ll want to take it out when the cheese changes consistency. Any longer than 10 minutes, and you’ll likely burn the bottom of the pita. And that’s a no-no.

It doesn’t take long, and … yesssss. Your pizza is served.

There’s nothing you can’t do with this pizza. It’s a filling, easy-clean-up dinner when you’re in a rush, and such a versatile recipe.

What’s your favourite kind of pizza?

Leave a Reply

